History of BDRCS

The Bangladesh Red Cross Society was constituted on 31 March, 1973 by the President’s Order No.26 of 1973 with retrospective effect from the 16th December 1971. The Society was recognized by ICRC on 20 September, 1973 and admitted to the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies on 02 November, 1973. The name and emblem were changed from Red Cross to Red Crescent on 4th April 1988 vide Act 25 of 1988.
The President of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh is the ex-officio President of the Society. The President appoints the Chairman of the Society for a term of 3 years, who may hold two consecutive terms.
BDRCS National Headquarters at Red Crescent Sarak, Boro Moghbazar, Dhaka is the Secretariat of the Society. The Secretary General, appointed by the Managing Board, heads the Secretariat. He is ex-officio the Secretary to the Managing Board. The Managing Board also appoints a Deputy Secretary General, who performs the functions of the Secretary General in his/her absence. The Secretariat is organized in five divisions, namely, Disaster Management, Health Services, Planning & Development, Central Support Services and Finance & Accounts.[I1]
The BDRCS has 68 Units. A Unit is constituted in each district and in the Metropolitan cities of Dhaka. Chittagong, Rajshahi & Khulna.